Friday, September 24, 2010

_favorite things parte due_

These are a few more of my favorite things since I've been in Italia. 

Caffé. I absolutely love the culture of caffé here. Cappuccino o caffé latte in the morning (which I may or may not get a chance to have) and espresso around 11 or after lunch. I love that we can just walk up to the bar (the café) and get a fresh tasty espresso for 75 centissimi.  And a cappuccino for 90. I wish I could bring back the cheap coffee prices with me when I go home. Actually, they aren’t always cheap. It’s around 1,20 for a cappuccino at a normal bar, but the campus bar has cheaper everything. And prices can get much more expensive if you sit down anywhere. Up to 4,00 euro if you are in a touristy area, like in the Campo of Siena or a fancier bar. You pay for service. But anyway, I love that people will take a short break, get an espresso, take their minds off their work and enjoy a little flavor in the middle of the day.  Oh, and it’s real coffee. None of that watery American crap.

Next, comes the cheap awesome chocolate. I love this cheap extra dark chocolate I get at the LIDL supermercato. 81% cacao. MMMmmm. So dark I have to let it melt in my mouth a little bit to taste any sweetness. I love it. One piece is perfetto.  I’ve tried some of the other candies and treats and things here too. Kinder is super popular (or at least super available) and makes so much more than eggs. The Kinder ‘Bueno’ is super tasty; it’s a segmented chocolate bar with cream filling inside and a little crunch to it. Sweet, but good. Ferrero makes similar things (they are owned by the same) and usually it’s a little better ..in my opinion. But still, I would trade all the super sweets for a small piece of ultra-dark chocolate.

Our drying rack. Ok, that sounds like a really random thing. But I oddly appreciate our drying rack a lot. It’s built into the cupboard above the sink, so your dishes are out of the way and just drain into the sink. Brilliant. It’s only awkward in the way it opens, but other than that I love the idea. Oh, and I love balconies. All apartments should have a balcony. And door/windows. I love feeling fresh, crisp morning air. Or crisp night air for that matter. And most windows open out onto courtyards or something similar, making for private(ish) quiet areas. I like the whole small apartment complex idea. Where you have the large exterior door, then an open space for parking/courtyard and then different stairwells of the apartment. Not all of them are like that here, but it just feels so… private and cozy? I don’t’ know if that is really a good way to describe it.
Drying racks. Again, I like the clotheslines out the balcony of our apartment. Clothes always smell so good when they are air-dried outside. Though…I wish we had a roof over our porch in that case. Everything was soaked the one morning when our forecast wasn’t quite as accurate as we’d hoped. Oops. 

No comments:

Post a Comment