Well, from the tone of the title of this post, you might imagine that my Sunday was pretty awesome. And you would be right! We were up late the night before, so I 'slept in' till 9, got ready, and attempted to find the church by 10:30. ..which mostly happened. I thought it was a clean, easy path to get there, and I was right. ..but somehow I complicated it and went over one block too many. Oh well, now I know. The church is based out of a school a little to the north of me. I was pretty sure I knew where it was, but I was sure when I could here talking and then singing filtering out through the large wood doors, one of which was open, welcoming. The singing came from above, and I walked up the stairs to find myself in the back of an auditorium, with red velvet-like upholstered theater chairs, sparsely filled by less than a hundred people. But it was beautiful.
The people, even by just their appearance, seemed to originate from all over the place. Some were dressed in traditional dress from and African country I am not quite familiar with enough to pinpoint. Others wore headphones to listen to the Italian translation of the announcements and sermon. Students, families, all were there, singing the best they could in a language that may be their second, third, or fourth tongue. The service was good. I still miss Hope and Terra most desperately, but I am so happy that the body of Christ continues across all man-made borders and beyond all language barriers. What I find so great about this church - this family that I am slowly getting to know - is their transparency. They are so concerned about knowing each person individually, praying for each person specifically. They refer to each person and prayer specifically.
I feel like especially in America, we are so nervous about "prying" into one another's lives, so we don't ask, don't approach on another on the state of our lives. But we are asked to be honest with one another - to share our lives. Not just the pretty happy things, but the hard, difficult, messy parts of our lives. We definitely all have those parts. So anyway, this church - this network and body seems to do that well. I have only been there once - my first Sunday was yesterday, but I was invited to play basketball afterwards (I don't really play basketball - I played one year in 5th grade...which was...... 10 years ago. ouch) But they were exceptionally gracious and let me play along. There were so many people from so many different countries! Three from America, one from Brasil, one Filipino, three from Ghana (I think).. and eventually a couple Italians, one Venezuelan, and one from Cameroon. All playing together; a friendly game of basketball.
I was pretty bad at basketball. And my running shoes did not help. But it was good exercise, and good bonding of sorts. (I was the only girl....RPI ratio anyone?) But it was really nice to hang out with all of them. On the way back, I got a ride with Dave and Chris was also in the car. We stopped at the mercato in Porta Nuova train station, and I bought some coffee because the apartment was running low. And you have no idea how nice it is to find a grocery store open late in the day on Monday! But I had heard rumors of peanut butter (they don't have it in Europe) and Chris though we should be able to find it at the Filipino mercato (I had no idea there was one!), so we went to it... which is actually pretty close to my apartment! They had peanut butter (!!!!) and I also bought white rice noodles and tamarind.
All were really good. Plus the guy at the store was really excited that I liked to try all of the different foods. So I will most definitely be coming back to try new things. And he said he would take me how to cook Filipino food. Pretty exciting :) I love cooking/baking wayyy too much.
Anyway, you have no idea how nice it was to be with some believers again. It was just so comfortable and homey, even though I've only known them for... a few hours. God has been so amazing with all of that. It's been incredible and I can't wait to see what is coming next. For now... I get to sit for 3 more hours and learn crazy commands on Grasshopper....I think I would rather be outside..or cooking. Soon enough...Chicken soup for all the sick people tonight :)
No comments:
Post a Comment